Watch: Angelo Mathews gestures ‘timed out’ after dismissing Shakib Al Hasan | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Sri Lankan all-rounder Angelo Mathews on Monday exacted sweet revenge for his ‘timed out’ dismissal by claiming the wicket of Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan during the World Cup match at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.
Earlier in the day, Mathews had become the first player in the 146-year history of international cricket to be given timed out as he had taken more than the regulation two minutes to take strike when he came out to bat.The 36-year-old cricketer faced issues with his helmet, and after surpassing the time limit, Shakib made an appeal, leading the umpire to rule the batsman out.
Mathews failed to reach the crease within the stipulated time of two minutes. As per the MCC laws, a batsman is required to be prepared to face the next ball within three minutes of a dismissal. However, in the specific playing conditions outlined for the ICC World Cup 2023, the time limit for the incoming batsman is just two minutes.
As soon as Mathews picked up Shakib’s wicket, who got out on 82, he gestured towards Bangladesh captain ‘timed out’ while pointing at his wrist as a send-off.
The ICC Cricket World Cup also posted the video on its Instagram handle captioning, “Angelo Mathews calls time on Shakib Al Hasan’s stint at the crease.”

Former Indian opener Aakash Chopra came up with a sarcastic post on social media platform X, formerly Twitter, and termed it as ‘Poetic Justice’.

World Cup 2023: Angelo Mathews becomes first ever player to be timed out in cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *