T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule: India face Pakistan on June 9 in New York; final on June 29 | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Arch-rivals India and Pakistan will lock horns on June 9 in New York in the upcoming T20 World Cup which kickstarts from June 1.
The blockbuster India-Pakistan clash will take place at the new Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in Long Island.
A total of 55 matches will be played across 9 venues as the ninth edition of the cricketing extravaganza will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the United States.
Forty-one matches will be played in the Caribbean across six different islands, with semis in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana and the title decider scheduled to be played in Barbados on 29 June.
Co-hosts USA will face Canada in the opening match of the tournament on June 1.
Among the four groups, India have been placed in Group A alongside Pakistan, USA, Canada and Ireland.
Group B comprises England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman. Group C has New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda and Papua New Guinea while Group D features South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal.
After the group games, top two sides from each group will progress to the Super 8 phase of the tournament ahead of the knockout semis and final.
Three American cities, New York, Dallas and Miami will host the T20 World Cup matches and interestingly all the India matches will be held on American soil.
India kickstart their campaign against Ireland on June 5.
Here’s India’s Group A schedule:
India vs Ireland – 5th June
India vs Pakistan – 9th June
India vs USA – 12th June
India vs Canada – 15th June

“The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 marks an exciting expansion of our sport with more teams than ever before set to compete in this event,” ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said in a statement.
“It’s going to be an incredible spectacle bringing together 20 international teams from Africa, the Americas, Asia, East-Asia Pacific and Europe.”
England are the title holders, having beaten Pakistan in Melbourne in November 2022.
The group stage matches will be played from June 1 to 18 while the Super 8 games are slotted from June 19 to 24.
The top two teams in each Super 8 group will advance to the semifinals.
The 55 games will be played across six venues in the West Indies — Kensington Oval, Barbados; Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad; Providence Stadium, Guyana; Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua; Darren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia; Arnos Vale Stadium, St Vincent — and three stadiums in the USA — Eisenhower Park, New York; Lauderhill, Florida and Grand Prairie, Texas.
With the T20 World Cup schedule being released six months before the tournament, Cricket West Indies Chief Executive Johnny Grave said it marks a “significant milestone” in their preparations.
“We know that teams, fans and cricket enthusiasts worldwide have been eagerly awaiting this announcement. And now that it is available, it provides a roadmap for the thrilling journey that lies ahead,” Grave said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *