India surpass Pakistan to become the team with most wins in T20Is | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: India etched their name in T20I history on Friday, becoming the team with the most wins in the format. This remarkable achievement unfolded during the fourth T20I clash against Australia in Raipur, where India secured a 20-run victory, not only winning the series 3-1 but also marking their 136th win in T20Is.
Out of the 213 T20Is India have played since their debut in the format in 2006, they have emerged victorious in 136 matches, with 67 losses and one tie.Three matches ended without a result, reflecting a formidable win percentage of 63.84. This milestone surpasses Pakistan, who have 135 wins in 226 T20I matches.

The two Asian rivals are followed by New Zealand (102 wins in 200 matches), Australia (95 wins in 181 matches), and South Africa (95 wins in 171 matches) in the list of most wins in the shortest format of the game.

In the crucial match against Australia, India set a competitive target of 175 runs. Contributions from Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, and Jitesh Sharma propelled India to 174/9 in 20 overs. Ben Dwarshuis shone with the ball, taking 3 wickets for 40 runs, supported by Tanveer Sangha (2/30) and Jason Behrendorff (2/32).
Australia’s chase saw a promising start with Travis Head’s brisk 31, but the team lost momentum. Despite efforts from Matthew Short (22) and skipper Matthew Wade (36 not out), they fell short by 20 runs, finishing at 154/7. Axar Patel‘s stellar bowling performance (3/16) and Ravi Bishnoi’s economical spell (1/17) played a pivotal role, with Deepak Chahar contributing with 2 wickets.

India’s series victory, with a match to spare, was capped off by Axar Patel being named the ‘Player of the Match’ for his impactful performance.

BCCI ends speculations, retains Rahul Dravid as India’s head coach alongside support staff

(With inputs from ANI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *